17
Sep
09

Fiasco of the Week – Win Wine!

This is your chance to vent about all that went wrong this week while at the same time being in to win a FREE bottle of Fiasco wine to wind down with .  What we are looking for are stories about those times when, despite your best intentions, things just didn’t go to plan.  You share your fiascos and we’ll share ours! 

2FIASCO-logo[1]

 

When we came up with the Fiasco label it was partly because we wanted to acknowledge that real life isn’t all smooth sailing.  The figure standing on the barrel while holding a glass of wine reflects the idea that sometimes we feel like we are running on a barrel  – trying to keep up with everything while searching for enough balance to also keep that glass of wine – to find time to look up, to taste life, to learn, and to enjoy ourselves.  For us, making wine is one ball in a juggling act that often does become a bit of a fiasco – but we have learned to laugh at such times and to enjoy the ride.    We think it’s important not to take ourselves too seriously and to celebrate fiascos – sometimes you just have to laugh!  And of course it helps to know that everyone has their share of fiascos – which should become apparent as we share a few stories.

Before I left Marlborough Girls College on maternity leave we ran an in-house fiasco of the week and it was great fun to hear of everyone’s workplace mishaps – and it often meant ending the week with a smile on my dial and thinking that in comparison to some, my week hadn’t been so disastrous after all!   So those staff from MGC who have been missing the Fiasco of the Week (and the wine!), here’s your chance to get back involved 🙂

The rules are simple:

Anyone can participate, although the wine prize must obviously go to someone over 18 years of age.

Use the comments form below this post to  tell us your fiasco – it doesnt matter how minor it may seem, you’d be surprised how much joy can come of hearing of others misfortune 😉

You can nominate someone else or tell your own yarn.

Stories must be true  (albeit colourfully told) and must relate to events that have occured in the week prior as opposed to some time in the distant past.

You may use an alias to remain anonymous.

We will add your e-mail to our ‘Friends of Fiasco’ database and send you our monthly newsletter (you can unsubscribe  easily with no offence taken).

One bottle of wine will be awarded each Friday to a winner selected by yours truly, who is of course open to bribery, flattery and favours 😉  Sorry we can’t post the  winning bottle outside of New Zealand – but we  can hold it for you until you get to this beautiful country of ours!

 

SO GET GOING AND TELL US YOUR FIASCOS – FIRST FREE WINE TO BE AWARDED TO THE BEST FIASCO ON THE LIST IN ONE WEEK’S TIME!

 

Oh and if you’ve had a bad day, take a moment out and sing karaoke at the top of your voice…

And be grateful you’re not in this vid – actually some of these are beyond funny…really shouldn’t still be laughing

22 Responses to “Fiasco of the Week – Win Wine!”


  1. September 17, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    So generally speaking would consider myself a positive person, always looking at the glass half full ( generally because my wine glass is!) kinda gal rather than glass half empty but as always, Murphy and his law are never far behind me…that bugger! Now I don’t want this to be taken as toilet humour or anything, but it certainly falls into that category for the wrong reasons.
    Very good friends of mine have just moved into what I definitely would call a MacMansion and we were invited over for a fantastic meal, they opened up a 1998 vintage of a great red from Waiheke ( sorry Fiasco, next time will bring one of your fine wines) but I digress, anyway, as nature called I had to make a powder room stop into the equally flash boudoir bathroom. Did my business and flushed and alas then is when disaster hit! They obviously did not hire a great plumber, because all of a sudden the bowl started filling with water….NO I screamed in horror, THIS CANNOT BE HAPPENING, Please stop, Please Stop, but no, the water level kept rising and rising and rising and before I knew it, the newly marbled floor was starting to fill with water, it was time to call for help as this was not going to stop! Imagine my extreme embarassment having to call my husband and get him to come and help ( he is an Accountant and last time I checked, they don’t teach that in Otago Commerce- bloody shame if you ask me!) Anyway, suffice it to say, towels were laid on the floor ( am sure they were fine cotton or and definitely new) and my friends husband had to step in, water had to be cut off, and some kind of ball cock in the cistern checked or something. At that stage I think I was so traumatised to remember.
    Friends were really lovely, don’t worry, it was an accident, sit down, have a wine, please don’t worry. My face the shade of the Bordeaux we were drinking, embarassed just does not cut it.
    So, I safely can say that my Tuesday dinner was a Fisaco, but as always, when push comes to show, a glass of wine and great company can see you through even the most disaterous of situations!
    Good luck and thanks for the opportuniyt to share. At the end of the day, you have to laugh as what else is there in life if not that!

  2. September 18, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    What a fiasco!!!!! That’s hilarious, all I can say is just as well you hadn’t done a big ol ‘number two’ to rise up and out with the toilet water ;-). Thanks for sharing!

  3. September 18, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    My husband was away for work, and what with trying to be SuperMum and all AND flying around the house running up the stairs to get extra exercise (cos I rarely get time to work out), I managed to fall over. Saved myself with my hand – dislocated a finger, broke my thumb and a few extra bones. As you do. Overnight, my fingers and hand swelled so much, my doctor had to cut off my wedding ring and engagement ring before he could treat me! Worst of all, I couldn’t tell my husband, because I knew he would come home early, and he’d only just started a new job and couldn’t afford to do that. My hand was so sore i couldn’t – pull up jeans, do up pants, put on or take off bras, wash my hair or comb it. We know no one in NZ and no family – so I had to get my kids to help dress me and keep me nice until hubby came home. If that doesn’t deserve a wine, I don’t know what does. (Worst of all, still haven’t gotten my rings fixed because all the jewellers I ask want to send them away. Don’t want to be separated from them again!

  4. 4 bron74
    September 21, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Thanks for the tip Jacinda…I’m always happy to share stories if it involves free wine!
    Ok, so my partner and our two friends thought it would be nice to take the kids on a picnic up the Ashley River on Sunday. Having had said picnic, the boys then decided that a bit of 4wding up the river bank was in order. Dave and Rich drove up the river. It was a rather fast and bumpy ride which the kids thought was great!
    They then decided that Kate and I should drive back. In my defense, I wasn’t overly keen but Dave insisted and who am I to argue?
    All was going well until we came to the river. I of course was a little hesitant but I believe Dave’s exact words were “Go for it..it’ll be fine” As it turns out, it was not fine. Half way across it became clear the the river was deeper than anticipated. The truck came to an abrupt stop and once the water reached my waist I decided it was time to bail out! The one good thing was that it had started to sink from the front so the kids were ok and we had the top down which made it easier…my stepdaughter grabbed the cameras, I grabbed the toddler and off we went. The other bright spot was that the wine was in the other vehicle as it took two hours to be towed out and several falls in the river while pushing (don’t worry, there was no way I was driving anywhere!)
    It would appear that the truck’s a writeoff ( got insurance) but by the time we got home we were laughing about it (what else can you do!) Of course, a complimentary bottle of wine is bound to make it appear even funnier 🙂

  5. 5 bron74
    September 21, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Sorry, forgot to leave my email address. bronwenanddave@clear.net.nz

  6. September 21, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to share your fiascos Bron and Mrs Desperate – man its going to be hard to pick a winner! Hope this week goes smoothly for you both, you deserve some smooth sailing by the sound of things 🙂

  7. September 25, 2009 at 9:56 am

    So the kids were away, and romance in the air
    it was time for candles, wine and a dinner with flair
    the venison was marinaded and reduced to taste
    I made sure this evening would not go to waste
    with the music and the lights on low
    it was time to relax and go with the flow
    however I discovered my plan had a flaw
    the wine I had bought turned out to be poor
    “You can’t serve me this” my dear wife cried
    and I knew my chance of love had died…

    So let the lesson be learnt and you want some zest
    be sure to get a Fiasco wine, they are simply the best!

    Cheers
    Carl
    info@travelmonkee.co.nz

  8. September 25, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Also forgot to leave my email address … bronnie@dizzydaisy.com

  9. 9 Jonathan
    September 25, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Oh dear…..
    This wasn’t this week but it certainly was our most recent fiasco.
    As we don’t currently have a fire ban in Marlborough we decided to get rid of the rather large pile of garden waste at the back of the property. I took charge of course and lit the first match. Within 10 seconds I was surrounded by flames spreading in EVERY direction. I lost a chunk of my eyebrows, hair, and also ruined a rather nice jumper. Our newly constructed fence at the back of the house caught fire and it was only pure luck that the barn didn’t go up in the process. To make matters worse 3 fire engines turned up as well as the civil defence truck to put out the mess! I retreated….smouldering, to the local hairdresser who did a fine job of cleaning me up!
    To top it all – the next door neighbour posted the photos on facebook. The shame of it all….

  10. September 25, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Nice poetry Carl, might have to buy the advertising rights from you 😉

    Teachers eh Jonathon, no practical skills whatsoever, lol! Where’s the link to the fb photos?

    Now to pick a winner – that is tough. I really appreciate you all taking the time to put in an entry – not always easy to write up a yarn when life is so busy. I’ve decided to give first prize to Mrs Desperate – it sounded like a real fiasco and you sounded most in need of a wine! 🙂 Just e-mail me your address and I’ll get it in the post – info@fiascowines.co.nz

    Have a great weekend all and keep it fiasco free – wine aside of course!

  11. September 26, 2009 at 4:32 am

    Thank you so much. With so many fiascos, I am thrilled (or should I be embarrassed) to be awarded the prize. Can’t wait and perhaps sharing it with my hubby will make him forget about my wedding and engagement rings …

  12. 12 Jonathan
    September 26, 2009 at 8:18 am

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/album.php?aid=2032994&id=1097123711

    Painful memories…….!
    I have to say that not being able to dress yourself beats it though!

  13. September 26, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Cheers Jonathan – will have to go have a looksee. And the only reason you didnt win is that the rules say it had to be this week, it was certainly a high standard fiasco – burning your clothes is right up there with not being able to get them on 😉

  14. September 28, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Hi did you read Auntie Raewyns story haha I think i put it in ths wrong place.Hope the holidays are going well and there hasnt been to many FIASCOS…….

  15. November 4, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I belong to a fishing club and play an active part in everything. On Sunday it was club day so I went out fishing with my new softbait rod and packs of new baits. What did I catch? A thick slimy yellow eel snatched a bait and curled round the end of the line. Great, so I had to cut that off and try again. Then a huge barracuta grabbed another of my new baits and dismembered it. Finally, just when I was bringing a snapper in the eyelet broke on my new rod so I had to swing the fish in by hand. After that morning out on the briny it was great to get to the club and start the bbq (I am the club chef). Problem #1, the nominated person forgot the meat so we had to send someone to get the snags and the steaks while 50 people got hungrier. And the venue had had a party Sat night so there was no red wine left. I was having a bad day. Finally, with steaks on and people gathered around for the late lunch, the venue’s bbq hadn’t been cleaned and there was no fat soaker under the tray (or kitty litter) so after 10 minutes it burst into fire! True story. Luckily our club day was held at the local firestation so we put it out, rescued the meat and started again. I eventually got a round of applause for delivering the meal. Better than a lynching I guess.

  16. 16 Jacinda
    November 6, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Hey Doug – thanks for taking the time to share your fiasco! A most entertaining story – there’s always amusement to be found in others misfortune ;-). But hey even the worst day fishing is better than work. Drop me an e-mail to info@fiascowines.co.nz with your address and I’ll get a complimentary bottle of fiasco to you – lets hope it’s the only fiasco you have this week!

  17. 17 amie
    December 18, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    well what a fiasco of a week! some nasty blighter decided to play hackers and deleted 3 of my websites 😦 It was so upsetting. I had tickets to an advance film screening but was so upset I gave them away (which was kinda cheerful since my friend was bouncing like tiger with excitement over getting them). Then my girlfriends who were here on holiday lost all their personal items including cards, drivers licences, money and phones! So I took my mind of my worries and looked after them for day which was cool. Booked them into the new welly airport lounge so they could relax before flying home and the welly lounge came to party and gave a HUGE discount for the poor darlings. Meantime I had to tell client that their website was *gone* and that I would do everything I could to fix it. They sent ME flowers and made me cry in public – I mean I should be sending them flowers! After two sleepless nights I found their website database and so was able to rebuild it for them in a day instead of what could of been 4 weeks over xmas! After all that I went out and caused a fisaco by getting drunk at a comedy gig – but hey – if you don’t remember it, it didn’t happen 😀

  18. December 18, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Oh no what a fiasco! There’s nothing like technology to bring about a fiasco or two! We can relate – had to take a ‘professional’ bottle shot today, you’d think that would be quite simple but alas no…I wont go into it, feelings are still too raw…

    Hey a bottle of Fiasco will be jetting its way to you, hope your friends are still there to share it with 🙂

  19. 19 Jo
    February 15, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    I have certainly had a fiasco of a week. Last Sunday our dog of 10 and a 1/2 years needed to be put down which was sad for us and our 2 children. Then on Monday we had to organise a trespass notice against someone who was of concern to my husbands work and due to the uncertainty of the reaction the person might have we fled our home for our own safety for 3 nights. Once settled back in at home I had a fall at home on the Thursday evening resulting in me wrenching my right ankle and breaking my left arm. Now that night was a total fiasco as my nearly 4 year old daughter went to the neighbours and said “My mummy needs help now!” which got them racing over to tend to me writhing in pain, ambulance called, husband called at work, a 4 year old to be organised for a sleepover and someone to be organised to stay at our house as the 1 year old was asleep in his cot. Back home on the Friday but then needed to cancel the daughters birthday party on the Saturday which was not taken too kindly by her. SO who ever said things come in threes better be right as that’s it for the year as far as we’re concerned.

  20. February 15, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Far out Jo – you do deserve a fiasco free remainder of 2010 after that run of events. Hope you’re healing up OK – e-mail me your postal address to info@fiascowines.co.nz and I’ll pop a bottle in the post asap 🙂

  21. July 24, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    I am not positive the place you are getting your info, however good
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding
    more. Thanks for excellent information I was in search of this information for my
    mission.

  22. May 17, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it
    a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 37,971 hits

fiasco twitter updates


