18
Oct
08

Human behaviour

Well this weekend is the big debut of Fiasco wines in local supermarkets: New World, Fresh Choice and Redwoodtown with Renwick to be added soon.  How will it go?  Aaron is going to go and stalk potential buyers soon as he checks out the aisles to see how it looks – we’ve even toyed with the idea of going together and staging a few very loud discussions about how great Fiasco wines are 😉 . 

Aaron wasn’t able to get a tasting stand at New World till next Saturday and at Freshchoice the waiting list is well into next year, unless we take a Saturday night.  Apparently the stats show that on a Saturday night few people stop for a tasting as most are nipping in for a quick trip as opposed to allowing for a bit of mooching about as one does with the weekly grocery shop. 

It’s fascinating thinking about human behaviour, it really is the basis of marketing.   There will at least be lots of people at the supermarkets today, because most have a Lotto stand and tonight’s draw is a biggee!  It’s interesting how one thing effects another.  For any of you readers out there, what does affect your choice of wine the most?  Price? Label appearance?  Reputable wine company?  Medal winner? Position in the shop? What you’re having for dinner?  Environmental stance of the wine company?  Ethics of the wine company? Knowing the owners? or um, what it tastes like?

 And much more exciting than our wine hitting the supermarkets is the prospect that I could well be an Aunty again before the weekend is over, if due dates can be relied upon.  I seem to know a lot of people having babies at the moment, but as the behaviourists would say, one event effects another and it’s not surprising 9 months after summer holidays 🙂

9 Responses to “Human behaviour”


  1. 1 Hainesy
    October 18, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    T

    Is your wine on the shelves at Springlands yet? Mum went to buy some this morning and couldn’t find it. Is her eyesight failing? She did admit to going cross-eyed at the variety of labels on offer.

    Happy weekend!

    H x

  2. October 18, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Aaron just went there and said, holding back the tears 😉 that it was in a really hard place to find. Enter, go past bread etc and it’s on the right just before the fruit and veg. It may not have been there this morning tho, and I can totally relate to the cross-eyed thing – its a jungle out there! Anyway he said it looked like none had sold so he brought a lotto ticket, lol.

  3. 3 Hainesy
    October 18, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Thanks for that, I have passed the instructions on. Mum is going to do some sly marketing for you tomorrow, she plans to take Fiasco to a BBQ she is attending.

    H x

  4. 4 fiascowines
    October 19, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Go Cheryl! Thanks 🙂

  5. 5 Brennan (Blenheim) Nelson, call me Blen!
    October 25, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I discovered you at NEW WORLD!

    Great wine for a first shot.

    Tell me about your history.

    I am new New Zealander with a huge history elsewhere that doesn’t seem to matter! Ha!

  6. 6 fiascowines
    October 25, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    History – where do I start? Aaron and I are both born and bred Marlburians with a fiasco of nationalities in the past. Our families are of mainly English, Irish and Scottish ancestry but there’s a bit of Italian and Maori on Aaron’s side to add to the mix! My family (Giffords) are having a reunion tomorrow at the Rapaura tennis club so I might learn a bit more about how we came to be here!
    Dad if you’re reading this perhaps you could give the details on Stembridge’s (the family vineyard) history?

    Blen, of course your history matters 🙂 What made you pick New Zealand?

  7. 7 Brennan (Blenheim) Nelson, call me Blen!
    October 26, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Blenheim chose the Nelsons quite sycronistically.

    I was offered a job as CFO of Port Marlborough. I left the Port company in November 2005 to take up a position in ChCh only to discover that the finance company lent to a bunch of Cantabrian crooks! I returned to Marlborough having commuted for a year to work with Cloudy Bay Vineyards as their Financial Controller. I thought I could work with the French as I have some French in me! But, no, you need a lot more than a little French to work with them.

    Why NZ? My sister, Kim, has lived in Dunedin since 1986. We throught she was mad coming to NZ? Ha! We were the ones that were mad!

  8. 8 Brennan (Blenheim) Nelson, call me Blen!
    October 26, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I’m a bit of a philistine (albeit Jewish!) when it comes to wine. I know what I like & dislike.

    As someone involved in the business there’s a pathetic focus on the label. I scan wax eloquent on labels. I have had some wines from Otago where the label is not worth the paper it’s written on & the wine was magnificent!!! I have had some wine where the label was perfect, artistic, etc, etc (Hyacinth Bucket would approve!) and the contents were worse than mouth wash!

    I think your label is very “kewl”. It’s funky & fun. And you know what, I can understand the message.

    For me, the “message” must “match” the “magic” …

    Price, in this day and age counts. As new players you are fairly priced for a great product. Don’t push the price point too hard yet.

    I shouldn’t be talking like this as I work for a competitor. However, I like seeing folk like you succeed!

    All the Best A+J

  9. 9 fiascowines
    October 26, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Hi Blen,

    That’s an interesting background you have – and what a mission it must’ve been commuting from ChCh to work! Many thanks for the affirmations and ideas. We are just back from a Gifford family reunion (my maiden name)and learning all about how many moons ago Jacob Gifford came out from England, arriving in Nelson and later shifting to Marlborough. With big families there were soon a mountain of descendants and plenty of farming families in the Rapaura area (think Gifford’s Road). So it seems you never know what you’ve begun when you leave the UK and head for NZ!


Leave a Reply

