14
Oct
08

Run run run

Got an e-mail from a friend, Rachel Anderson who organises the St Clair Vineyard Half Marathon with her husband Callum.  The entries are now open for next year’s May event and last time they were at maximum capacity by Christmas.  The event sponsored by St Clair Wines consists of a 21 km run or walk through Marlborough vineyards.  It’s something that appeals to me on a number of fronts

– I love running (weird, I know)

–  the Andersons and the Ibbotsons (Saint Clair) are long time friends and know how to put on a great event 🙂

– the walk/run consists of a course that goes right through my backyard as it traverses my folks’ Stembridge vineyard

– Everyone gets a bottle of wine for getting across the finish line instead of random spot prizes or an emphasis on place

– Our family gets complimentary entry for allowing runners through the vineyard

 – The event donates to Project K, and there are teenage students I teach benefitting from this right now.  

-I did the first ever St Clair Half Marathon with my brother and parents but got out of it last year by promising our family would make it a biannual event… thinking at the time that 2009 was an eternity away…

Looks like time for me to get my entry in :), just have to con persuade the rest of the family!

 P.S More sales action today – Fresh Choice in Springlands have taken some cases.  And we’ve delivered some wine to Belinda Jackson who is  tasting them on behalf of Liquorland.

7 Responses to “Run run run”


  1. October 15, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Nice. I’m currently in training for the Auckland Half Marathon and I can think of where I’d rather run! Through the flat but leafy outskirts of Blenheim or the hilly, traffic-and-smog-clogged streets of Auckland? Hmmmm.

  2. October 15, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Yep a bit of a no brainer. It’s a nice course – really flat like you say but not all just vines as that could get a bit monotonous. You run along the Wairau river bank too – it’s such a primo scene with all the colours of the vines in autumn and the river with hills in behind. The other thing is that families and supporters etc are starting to come out on the day for picnics around the course to cheer people on. When is the Auckland half? My friend Hainesy that comments here is doing the Sydney half, so at least I’m secure in the knowledge that I’m not the only half mad runner 🙂

  3. October 15, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    If only they handed out free wine at the runs up here! I might be tempted to get involved!
    Running’s for people who can’t ride bikes 😉

    BTW – dial up saved me from viewing the horrors of your video! Such a shame I didn’t get to watch the fluffy little chicks.. would have been good though, given they’re boys…

  4. October 15, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    I won’t even start arguing with a cycling addict- my brother is one and I know there’s no chance of changing the mind of you cycling enthusiasts- even when you’re broke from buying the latest gear, and crashing into stuff 🙂 Anyway,aren’t you selling your bikes on Trade Me?

  5. October 16, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    When is the Auckland half?

    November 2nd

  6. 6 Rachel
    October 16, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Listing bikes on trademe – first one down will be sold, fingers crossed they don’t both go before I can withdraw one! (sneaky fact though, my ex was customer service mgr for bike distributor – I paid 40% off wholesale, needless to say, I’ll make a wee profit)…

  7. October 16, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Damian- gee that’s not far away, hope the training has gone well.
    Rachel- you see it’s all ‘who you know’- even the ex!


Leave a Reply

