07
Oct
08

Wank free Wine

Was talking to a friend the other day who was saying he’d so enjoyed the “wankfree wine” in France where wine is served in a big glass jug on the table with no fancy label to fuss over, where everyone drinks wine and not just those with some dosh, where it’s the norm to order ‘white’ or ‘red’ and appreciate whatever arrives, where home brewing of wine is commonplace and where small family vineyards abound….  He said he was shocked to return to New Zealand and have to re-adjust to all the glass swirling, sniffing, flowery descriptions, corporate wine companies and well, all the wank that tends to go with wine here.   I don’t know how accurate his description of the French wine scene is, but I wouldn’t mind visiting to find out.

I guess that is the niche New Zealand wine has found, that we do market our wine as premium and elite.  New Zealand wine is excellent quality and this approach appears to be working.  But, it does clash with the down to earth nature so many of us Kiwis have.  I far prefer the company of honest people who tell it as it is.  I guess that’s why I love Outrageous Fortune – real imperfection is so much more entertaining that faked perfection.   That, and dare I say it – I can relate to some of the characters.  I won’t elaborate on that for fear of causing offence, but have to remind all that Aaron was of course a Renwick bogan when we first met… drove a V8 and wore tight black jeans (don’t worry Azza it’s less embarrassing than the moleskin stage I went through… we must’ve looked a strange pair 🙂 ).  The good news is Outrageous is on tonight – yeh!  Whatsmore, tomorrow night I get to meet Robyn Malcolm at a ladies night being organised by CRT (Combined Rural Traders) of all places.  That’s the New Zealand I love – where a farming business can sponsor a tv star!

7 Responses to “Wank free Wine”


  1. October 7, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    I wish I could relate to the outrageous fortune mania, but as my mate and I were saying over lunch just now – it was a bit awkward watching an old friend from school who’s on the show get her top off!
    The wine scene I found in France was a little different – more wank than you could shake a stick at I’m afraid.

  2. October 7, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I had a sneaking suspicion it all sounded a bit too good to be true!

  3. October 7, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Btw – which character was the school friend?

  4. 4 Hainesy
    October 7, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Admittedly, during my time in France, I experienced both the ‘wank’ and ‘wank-free’ versions. Seemed to be a location dependent phenomena, and sometimes I even had a choice between the two!

  5. October 7, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Nicole Whippy – don’t know the character’s name sorry, you’ll have to look on the credits.

    As for the french wank and wank-free versions, I can just imagine some bogan kiwi pulling up a chair and asking for the wank-free wine list!

  6. October 7, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Oh man you have just reminded me of that ‘Kath & Kim’ episode when Kim asks for for “a kardonay please” and the poncy waiter dude goes “No, I think you’ll find it’s ch ch chardonnay” Kim replies something along the lines of “Don’t get ya knickers in a twist, I’ll have a chardonnay then … ya chunt.”

    PS I promise to lift the tone tomorrow 😉


Leave a Reply

