02
Oct
08

With hints of fish bladder

It is a fact that fish bladders are useful in the process of making wine (and beer for that matter).  Before you imagine something slimy and smelly, let me explain that the fish bladders are dried and consist largely of collagen that has been found to attract bitter tannins and phenolics.  So the winemaker can add a bit of fish bladder to pick up these bits not wanted in the wine and then it can be filtered out again.  The result is superb clarity for white wines – a bit like holey apples, cloudy wine isn’t that appealing to consumers. 

However, the tinest traces of fish bladder could potentially remain in the wine.   Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) make it mandatory to declare this because some people are allergic to fish.  While producers don’t exactly have to write “with hints of fish bladder” in the tasting notes, they do have to put it on the label somewhere that it may contain traces of it.   Some companies have chosen not to use it anymore for fear of putting off consumers.  Fortunately for Fiasco we have chosen not to use fish bladders in the production of our wine because its clarity was good enough as it was. 

However, FSANZ are now considering removing the mandatory label because research has now found the use of the fish bladders “doesn’t raise any safety concerns for the consumers allergic to fish.”   They are seeking public comment on this.  What do you think?  Personally, I think it’s important that food is well labelled, that we know what we are eating and drinking (… Warning: This baby formula contains excessive melamine that may kill).  Although the fish bladder may not cause an allergic reaction, what about vegetarians?   Or would they prefer not know than to have to forego wine 😉 ?  On the other hand, is this labelling going overboard when we are talking about something that is added then removed again?

23 Responses to “With hints of fish bladder”


  1. October 2, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    As one of those annoying people who has a really restricted food diet, I appreciate good labelling. I would be asking about the certainty of the research that the fish doesn’t raise any concerns for those allergic.
    Current labelling standards allow companies to label their food as gluten free if it contains less than 2% gluten (or 0.2% – can’t remember sorry), but for some people, that’s enough to set off a serious allergic reaction.
    So maybe they could simply say, contains less than **% of ***.
    Although had I not already known about the fish bladders I’d be putting back a bottle of wine that said ‘contains less than 2% fish bladder’!!
    Looking forward to seeing your wine on Auckland shelves 🙂

  2. 2 M & M
    October 3, 2008 at 10:14 am

    I totally agree with Rachel.
    I think everything should be well labelled. Allergies are affecting people more each year and only a small trace of whatever you are allergic to can be dangerous for some. Personally I like to know what ingredients are in what I am eating and drinking.
    Imagine sitting back enjoying a bottle of fine wine and then end up having an anaphaylactic shock because of traces of fish bladder. What a “fiasco”

  3. 3 Uncle Jakey
    October 3, 2008 at 11:04 am

    I think that accurate labelling is important, but at the same time I accept that it could give the wrong idea to many consumers. To my knowledge (which is somewhat surface – so please correct me if I am wrong) wines processed in this way don’t contain a percentage (of any significance) of fish bladder (or egg white in some cases – also used for fining wine) so much as a minute trace. Unlike chocolate bar companies who have to say “may contain traces of nuts” on packaging – not because the bar contains nuts but because the factory processes different flavours on the same equipment – where there is the risk of a significant quantity of nut accidentally appearing in the wrong bar, the amount of fish bladder that might ever be present in any wine is indeed just a trace. Still, I think it’s better to have the information about agents used in processing wine on bottles than not both for safety’s sake and to create a point of difference for those choosing alternative processing methods. I think the wording “may contain traces of…” or just the info “fined using fish/egg products” is enough rather than giving a percentage figure.

  4. October 3, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Yes M & M its a fiasco I’d rather not be responsible for, but Uncle Jakey is right that we are talking miniscule amounts and FSANZ have now concluded that it does not pose any safety concerns to those allergic to fish. It’s interesting the issues you raise about wording though Uncle Jakey- “may contain traces of fish bladder” is more off putting than something like “fined using natural isinglass” (isinglass is another name for the dried fish bladders). Some foods and drinks contain warnings that use chemical terms that many folk probably don’t know a thing about, eg “Warning, contains phenylalanine” on a can of Diet Coke. Would people in China have avoided the baby formula that had in small print at the bottom: “May contain melamine.”? I think at the end of the day there is a lot of responsibility on producers, and consumers do put their trust in them. It’s in our best interests not to mess with that trust.

  5. November 26, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    I personally want to know what I’m drinking. I care about what I put in my body, and with all the poisons around us, I’m very careful to eliminate as much as possible. Fish in this day and age is toxic. And to me a little toxin is too much. If I can avoid it, then I want to. I’m vegan and I don’t even chew gum due to the sheep oil in it. YUCK! I think we as consumers should know EXACTLY what is in our food and drink. I think it’s also up to us to be educated on what we put in our bodies. So often I hear people say they are eating healthy, when in reality many are eating so many toxins at every meal.

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let all consumers know what we are getting in our foods and drinks. I’m not a wine drinker because I also feel alcohol is a toxin. But if I want to put a toxin in my body, I have a right to do so or not. Keeping any ingredients a secret is just wrong!

  6. September 14, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    How can that bag of bones Paltrow pull off a lap dance. ,air max

  7. February 2, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    This unique blog post, “With hints of fish bladder Fiasco!
    ” demonstrates that u understand everything that you r talking about!
    I thoroughly agree. Thanks ,Felix

  8. April 27, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    Consequently, they want to take pleasure from themselves with lgt packs.
    US Tour player Becky Morgan and European Tour golfer, Jackie Kebbell wear Moose Golf Clothing.
    And the these shoes are the most useful bang for
    your actual buck is pressing. The very approach has built mixed response provided by the
    users. http://communitypa.progressleaders.org/blog/index.php?
    userid=36671

  9. May 16, 2013 at 2:16 am

    You could definitely see your skills in the work you write.

    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are
    not afraid to say how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

  10. May 17, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve
    had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  11. May 21, 2013 at 12:12 am

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to
    tell someone!

  12. May 22, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and
    it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  13. May 31, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    It’s actually very complicated in this full of activity life to listen news on Television, thus I only use web for that purpose, and take the latest news.

  14. June 5, 2013 at 8:24 am

    When I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is
    added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there
    is a means you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

  15. June 29, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    When someone writes an paragraph he/she keeps the thought of a user in his/her mind that how a user
    can understand it. So that’s why this article is outstdanding. Thanks!

  16. July 12, 2013 at 4:44 am

    Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning
    to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic
    but I had to ask!

  17. July 17, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Pt Musashi advance auto review Indonesia, tukang Warteg bilang,” Mas, kerja dimana? Operating income per store increased to $1, 700 from $1, 638 a year ago, excluding the impact of their marketing communications. The majority of our private funding has been used for costs not covered by the DoE loans were approved, and has further penetrated this market by introducing commercial delivery programs into its existing store base. After you subtract out what it cost the company to improve its financial position via retiring debt.

  18. July 17, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    Students are attracted in this time of day and age.
    In case your timetable is open, think about acquiring your procedure performed on an on-phone basis.
    Exercising a little each day can relieve the physical tension of stress or
    anxiety, alcohol consumption and hot, caffeinated drinks, strenuous exercise,
    and changes in the practice but at home too.

  19. July 27, 2013 at 6:45 am

    I enjoy looking through a post that will make people think.
    Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  20. August 6, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn.
    This is a really smartly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  21. 21 Amory
    August 27, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Blessings, well the below link helped to educate me on the other stuff in wines. Old article but it gives you a general idea for those of us who basically just drink wine and are clueless to its producing:)

    http://www.vrg.org/journal/vj97jan/971wine.htm

    Hope this helps answer some questions.

  22. January 26, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Hi there, the whole thing is going fine here and ofcourse evry one is sharring information, that’s actually good, keep up writing.

  23. February 16, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    I’m pretty pleased to discover this great site. I want to to thank
    you for ones time for this particularly wonderful read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it
    and i also have you book marked to see new information on your site.


Leave a Reply

